The museum was founded in 1991 in the house of former independent Lithuanian politician Mykolas Slezevicius, who emigrated to the West. The house was built in 1931.
There is displayed an exposition that presents the history Lithuanian children literature since the first Lithuanian children book till now.
The museum displays a lot of authors, also the writers’ personal things, pieces of art, book illustrations, presented the development of children’ periodical literature. Visitors can see folk artist’s Stase Samuleviciene (1906-1988) collection of toys, made from fur. The museum organizes children and writers’ meetings, various literal exhibits, and active educational work. In 1951 in this building P. Cvirka’s Museum was established (Closed in 1991). From 1934 till 1935 P. Cvirka leased the modest room in the cellar of this building. Now that room displays memorial exposition.
K. Donelaičio St. 13, Kaunas
Phone number: 00 370 37 206488